High achievers — Rosarian Academy

High achievers — Rosarian Academy

Palm Beach Daily News: Rosarian Academy held an awards ceremony March 31 to honor its middle school students for their exceptional academic performance and athletic achievements during the school year’s second trimester.

Seventh-graders Mercedes Cassidy, Madison Fabbri and Blair Haft, joined eighth-graders Devyn Dyett and Gabriela Faber for achieving Highest Academic Honors, with all A’s in the trimester and on all exams.

Fabbri, who read 800,000 words and Haft, who read 1,400,000, received Accelerated Reader awards for having read 300,000 words or more since the start of the school year,

More than two dozen students, grades 6-8, received First Honors for holding a grade-point average of 10 or higher:

* Eighth graders — Gemma Conroy, Hope Diffenderfer, Marlowe Dunn Flom, Lorenzo Escobar, Bettina Johnston, Javier Keough, Sophia Mendez, Drew O’Brien, Max Sanderson;

* Seventh-graders — Maggie Acosta, Christian Azqueta, Wilder Breckenridge, Joseph Coates, Macarena Gonzalez; Emma Hardyman;

* Sixth-graders — Sabrina Bernstein, Bobby Brown, Thomas Coates, Lily Guari, Stephen Hall, MJ Hanlon, Ava Iuliani, Crede Janson, Sabrina Keough, Jack Mischke, Mia Pariseleti, Victoria Reynolds, and Parker Ward.

Winners of the school-level religion, geography and spelling bees also were recognized: Marlowe Dunn Flom, Mercedes Cassidy, Sabrina Bessenroth, and Brewer Rehm won the religion bee; Christian Azqueta won the geography bee; and Madison Fabbri won the spelling bee.

The athletic team awards were held in memory of former junior varsity flag football player Oakley Debbs, who died as the result of a nut allergy over the Thanksgiving holiday. Debbs’ jersey, No. 20, was retired and will be displayed on campus. Rosarian Academy has supported a nonprofit created to increase awareness of nut allergies, Red Sneakers for Oakley, in Debbs’ memory.

The girls’ soccer team and the girls’ basketball team were recognized as the 2016-17 Palm Beach Independent School Athletic Conference champions.

Individual athletic awards were presented to soccer players Bella Vega-Dadurian, Isabella Fiorentino, Madison Fabbri and Logan McGruder. Boys, varsity basketball awards went to Jamis Bornschein, Caleb Curtis, Aidan Griffiths and Drew O’Brien; to the boys’ junior varsity basketball team: Coz Carpenter, Remi Beaud, John Molina, Wilder Breckenridge. Girls’ basketball awards went to: Bella Vega Dadurian, Maggie Acosta, Gemma Conroy, Devyn Dyett and Isabella Fiorentino. Girls’ cheerleading awards were presented to Kaitlin Koch, Natalie Acosta, and Layna Steele.
Click here to read the full article

2017 High Achievers